Five for Friday

  1. 🧺 Laundry Monday. I got this idea from a coworker. The idea is simple: try to get all the laundry done on Monday. All of it. I mostly don’t succeed, but I do generally make a damn good dent, and then I give myself the gift of not worrying about it until next Monday.

  2. 🍝 Italian Tuesday. On most Tuesdays, I make pasta for dinner. This week, we even spontaneously had Fancy Dinner Night and sat at the table, lit candles, and played music. It makes Tuesdays a little more fun AND reduces the cognitive load of deciding what to make for dinner. I paired farfalle with roasted broccoli and sundried tomatoes in a cream sauce with lots of parmesan (similar recipe), which is a household favorite.

  3. 📝 Always Be Documenting. There’s no real wisdom here. I’m just making more of an effort to write down what I did and how I did it, because I know it will help me later. I’m also trying harder to make those docs public to my teammates or my TIL.

  4. 📚 Book Club. I joined a book club! I’ve only been to one meeting, but it was wonderful. The next meeting is very soon and I’m behind on my reading… because I was catching up on books they read last year. This month’s book is a book of short stories: The Memory Librarian by Janelle Monáe.

  5. 🎞️ Dune 1. I watched Dune this week for the second time, but first I watched a 15-minute YouTube recap and read the Wikipedia summary. It was a very dense film for me the first time around, but this time I could relax into it more and I really liked it! I’ll be seeing the second one in a couple weeks.

Lacey Henschel @lacey